January 2 (2/365)

Standard
January 2 (2/365)

2/365

We have a houseguest coming this weekend — my husband’s cousin that I’ve never met.  Obviously, I want to make a good impression, and first on the list of preparations to do so is a good cleaning of the house.  I’ve never been the best, or even good, at keeping a tidy house.  Our home is never dirty in the sense that there are piles of food rotting in the corner, but it’s more often than not pretty messy.

When we moved to CA last fall, we decided the best thing to do would be to rent for a while. Luckily, we found a good sized house with a yard in a safe neighborhood. Unfortunately its previous residents (and owners) were elderly and a there’s lots of dust and dirt that built up before us. You should have seen the kitchen counters! That’s a story for another day.

So, anyway, today I started to try and clean the house to get ready for our guest this weekend. First I decided to take down the Christmas decorations, which was a pretty tough decision (in my family they never come down until Epiphany). That’s when I saw the chandelier..

Ah, the dining room chandelier. I like to think of it as a not yet retro piece from the 80’s. It’s brass, it’s big, and it has lots of crystals on it. I don’t think we could change it out without asking the landlord, and frankly, I kind of love it in its 80s too flashy way. I love it, but not the filth on it.

For Christmas I had decorated it with ornaments and beads (because it wasn’t out there enough), so when I took down the decorations I couldn’t help but notice just how dirty the chandelier is. I have a lot to do this week, but I could not walk away without doing something about it.

Which takes me to today’s photo(s).  I cleaned it! Well, I started to clean it

Fotor0104142030

On the left side, you can see the “before” photos, and “after” on the right.  I hope you can tell what a huge difference has been made. I had to take down each crystal, remove its hook, and soak it in a soapy bowl. Then I let them dry (see them in the top right photo, so cute all sparkly in a row), put them back on their hooks, and hung them up again. So far I’d say I’m about 50% done. I’ll be sure to post a photo when it’s all finished.

Today was a super sidetrack, but I couldn’t help myself. The chandelier was screaming to be restored to its 80’s sparkling glory.

Here are the photos in their true proportion:

ETA:  Just like with January 1, I’ve decided only one photo should be the official Project 365 photo of the day. It’s going to have to be the one looking upwards at the shinies.

My 365

2 responses »

  1. Wow. What a project! I can definitely see a difference after the washing. Hope you get done all you’ve set out to accomplish before your houseguest arrives! And good luck on the 365!

    • Thanks! I actually super slacked off on the chandelier (been working on it a bit again today). I’ll be sure to post a photo of its sparklyness soon.

Leave a Reply

