Ice cream?

Standard
Ice cream?

Ok, so it’s late, husband is asleep, I can’t sleep (that’s my normal), and I am hungry.  I’m sitting here wondering/brainstorming what I can write about on my blog.  What will the masses (yeah, lucky if 2 people read this) want to read?  What critical knowledge can I pass on to the people?  Still working on answers to those questions.

All I have right now… is food on the brain.  Ice cream especially.

One of my ideas was to write about things to do and sights to see in the LA area, since I’m so new here and basically a permanent tourist for the foreseeable future.  That’s when it hit me!  I know a great LA thing to do that involves ice cream.  Genius moment.  So, this post is about Carmela Ice Cream in Pasadena.

www.carmelaicecream.com

Where to begin?  Well, first of all, I’m serious about my ice cream.  That’s not to say that I won’t eat crappy, cheap ice cream.  You bet your ass I will.  What I mean is, when I eat truly wonderful ice cream, I know it.  Carmela has truly wonderful ice cream.  You can tell the second you taste it that somebody took their sweet time figuring out exactly how much of each carefully selected ingredient to put in.  The Pasadena “Artisan Creamery” (adorable) is a very open space;  behind the ice cream counter you can see the kitchen where they make the delectable treats from scratch.  Very cute.  Did I mention they use real fruits, local market produce and organic dairy?  Doesn’t hurt to say.

I realize I’m rambling/gushing here, but honestly, I would be so happy if the ice cream fairy showed up at my house right now with a pint of Salted Caramel from Carmela’s. …waiting…  Ah, well, the memories of that great ice cream will have to satisfy me for now. I mentioned the Salted Caramel, which if I absolutely had to pick a favorite flavor, would narrowly beat out the Brown Sugar Vanilla Bean.  Those two flavors are part of their signature flavor line.  Each season, they switch out various flavors for more seasonably appropriate/fresh ones.  For example, around labor day when I was first introduced to this piece of heaven on earth, the seasonal flavors were still pretty fruity/summer-y, with I think an apple flavor thrown in there.  When we went last week, there were more winter type tastes to try out — nutmeg, roasted sweet potato, you get the idea.  Oh, and when I say taste and try out, I mean it.  They are more than willing to let you sample any or all of the flavors available (I’m pretty sure they just know they’re that good.)

Anyway, if you ever find yourself in Pasadena, get away from Colorado Blvd. for a bit and go to Carmela’s.  It’s worth it.  Feel free to send some ice cream my way, too.

p.s.  I couldn’t stand to have a post that didn’t have a photo/picture for the main page. So, enjoy my 1:45am drawing of an ice cream fairy delivering a pint to my house (the house is in the distance, not miniature, and those are mountains behind it).  I love bad drawings in paint.

haha ice cream fairy

Leave a Reply

