Pillows!

Standard
Pillows!

Lately I’ve been on a bit of a throw pillow kick.  That’s to say, I’ve been oo-ing and ah-ing over all kinds of throw pillows on Pinterest, but haven’t done anything about it.  I’m writing a post right now about all kinds of projects I’ve started and abandoned/forgetten, and I’m ashamed to say it, but 2 throw pillows are already on that list.  When I finish those 2 pillows, and oh yes, I will finish them, I think I might start on one or all of these latest obsessions.

Big Bow Pillow

I’ve never actually been much of one for bows, or overly feminine decor, but something about these big bow pillows draws me in.  Maybe it’s that they’re girly with the bow, but balanced out by the lack of frills, who knows.  This first photo is the idea I have in my head, big bows, bright colors, gorgeous.

Rae Gun Ramblings: Tutorial: Big Bow Pillow Cases

I like the shape of the bow in this second photo even more though, but still with the bright colors of the first.  The way I see it, if you’re going to make a huge bow, really make a huge bow.  Also, it looks fun to play with the loops of the bow that don’t attach.

Say Yes to Hoboken: DIY: Big Bow Pillow

Next on my agenda, Ruffle Pillow

I love everything about this pillow – the color, the fabric, the ruffles, the shape.  Luckily, there’s a tutorial that looks pretty easy to follow.  Yay for that!  Even better, it’s made of recycled t-shirt, you know what that means… soft jersey knit.

Oh So Crafty: Tutorial: Ruffles Pillow

Pleated Pillow

For someone who claims to dislike delicate, girly decor, I sure like a lot of delicate looking stuff.  The color of this pillow is more suited to a little girl’s nursery, but imagine it in a burnt orange dupioni, or citrine yellow softness! Love.

The House of Smiths: Pleated Pillow Tutorial

Snuggly Pillow

It doesn’t have to be this particular pillow, though the pattern and yarn look absolutely snuggleicious.  All I want are most pillows that just beg to be snuggled with and on, textures and softness and depth. I feel snuggly warm all over already.

DROPS Cushion Cover w/ Crochet Flowers

Craft Pillows

To me, homes need personalized, one of a kind touches, or they just aren’t quite home.  I’d love to make (or even buy) some one of a kind pillows to throw around the house.  They’d probably be small, and that’s just fine by me — cute little treasures scattered around.

Felt Bird Pillow (not sure if original source)

Peek-a-Boo Heart (In Russian)

Unicorn Pillow (Sold by ohhoneychild on Etsy)

Can’t find original source for this… anyone?

That’s all I have to say about throw pillows for now.  Is anyone else currently fixated on a specific home decor item?

One response »

  1. Pingback: Craft debt Pt 2 – the one where my husband notices « Knowing and Growing

Leave a Reply

