January 18 (18/365)

Standard
January 18 (18/365)

18/365

Ok, I didn’t do what I planned to do yesterday, and I didn’t do it today.  I also didn’t do today what I had been trying to do today.  Does that make any sense?  I hope so.

This morning I was looking in our backyard, and I got the great idea to try to take a photo of the birds that hang out there all day.  Idea?  Done.  Actually following through on the idea was such a challenge.  First of all, catching birds flying seems next to impossible to me.  You need to have the camera pointed in the right place at exactly the right time, and manage to click the shutter button in that moment.  Grats to people who have mastered this.  Second, what I really had my heart set on was a photo of one of the hummingbirds that hang out around our yard.  That proved so very, very hard and frustrating.  The hummingbirds aren’t always around, they come and go between a few houses, and on top of that, they’re so small that if you really want to try to get a photo of one you need to have the camera focused on a very small area.  That’s all well and good, except they are fast little things when they feel like it.  At the bottom of this post is the best photo I got of one today, but that’s not the photo of the day.

The photo of the day is of this cute parakeet just chillin’ on the power lines.  I like the little sign by him, too.

DSC_0597-1

Here’s the hummingbird shot… nothing to write home about.  If you can’t find the bird, he’s about a 1/3 of the way in from the left, and in front of the top row of bricks.  I will get a good photo of it one of these days, oh yes, I will.

DSC_0601-1

My 365

2 responses »

  1. Those little hummingbirds are so elusive…. My mother-in-law captures them when they’re feeding at the hummingbird feeder in her backyard. I think that is the only ‘trap’ that makes it possible.

Leave a Reply

