Craft Debt Pt 4 – Ghosts of Crafts Present

Standard

Missed Parts 1, 2, and 3? Catch up if you like: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

Only a few things on today’s rundown.  These are all projects that I’ve been working on or thinking about starting in the last few months.

The Cross Stitch

After I finished embroidering my nephew’s birthday present in December I was feeling a need to continue with more needlework.  I’ve never really worked a cross stitch pattern that I didn’t make myself, so I took it upon myself to try one out.

Turns out, finding free cross stitch patterns online is pretty easy.  There are even websites that let you make your own patterns from pictures for free.  No need to buy expensive software.  I went with the free online pattern option, and picked a beach scene.  Any normal person would have picked a small piece or a sampler with a lot of blank space for their first true cross stitch.  Not me.  Being the special kind of crazy that I am, I chose a full coverage piece that measures almost 2 square feet and has about 50 colors in it.  Typical.

Tropical Beach X-stitch

Obviously, it is going to take a while.  I’ve found that working on it while I watch tv works well, but haven’t really been doing much with it.  After the Cinderella outfit is done, and now the new official #2 project of the comforter is done, too, I’ll focus more on stitching while relaxing in the evening.  It will be finished eventually, I promise.

Yeah, there's a lot left to do

Yeah, there’s a lot left to do

The Camera Bag

I’d say I’m about 50% done with this one.  When I first got my DSLR back in October, I had my eye on one of these beautiful bags by Kelly Moore.  I couldn’t afford it at the time, and didn’t really need it either, so no camera bag for me.  Fast forward to December.  We went to Texas and Florida this December, which meant travelling with my shiny new camera.   Still not willing or able to buy a fancy girly camera back, and totally unwilling to buy a, shall we say, “traditional” (read: ugly) bag, I came up with the idea to make my own insert for a purse.  Custom camera bag, here I come!

As with most things in life, there were already a couple of tutorials floating around Pinterest, so I checked those out.  Same basic idea, choose purse, measure purse, buy foam, cut foam, cover foam with fabric, sew up, the end. Cool.  I bought my foam, a new purse to use as a camera bag, and already had my fabric.  I bought the green kind of foam, but I’ve read online that the white kind is better because the green kind lets out some gases over time that may damage your lenses.  My camera is rarely in its bag, so I’m not too worried about the short bouts of foam gas exposure it’s receiving.  So, at first I made the mistake of overthinking everything, and tried making templates and patterns and figuring out seam allowance… all that jazz.  Then, it struck me!  Quit being crazy, just cut the foam and sew the fabric around it and trim.  Much easier, no headache whatsoever.

For our trips, I had it at a pretty decent stage.  The foam was cut, fabric was cut, it was just missing sewing on some parts, and velcro on the dividers.  I plan on finishing it before another trip.

Camera Bag Materials

Camera Bag Materials

Progress so far

Progress so far

The Spoon Racks

Ever since I was a little girl, I remember my mom and grandma collecting decorative spoons.  They got them every tourist-y place we went, and let me tell you, there were a lot of spoons collected.  When my grandma passed away a few years ago, I kept her spoon collection and the spoon racks they were displayed on.  There are way more spoons than places on the racks to put them.  Turns out she had most of the spaces double or triple filled!

Here’s my plan for the spoons and their spoon racks.  I want to paint the racks a bunch of fun, bright colors and hang them up in my craft area.  The walls are all white, and I hate to paint them since this is a rental, so I’m hoping bright spoon racks with polished, shiny spoons on them will really liven up the space.

I'll only use a few

I’ll only use a few

Oh yes, there's quite a lot to choose from

Oh yes, there’s quite a lot to choose from

Thanks for catching up on my to-do list!  Coming up next, working my way out of this pile of unfinished projects and, of course, keeping you updated.

2 responses »

  1. This is a really great idea, taking out and working on all those half-finished craft projects. I have a whole stack of them that just move from place to place with me as the years go on (I think I’ve moved a total of 12 times in the past 10 years!). Half of them are sewing projects that I worked on while I was living in my parents’ home when I was younger where there was a sewing machine, but I’ve been without one for a while. My husband gave me a sewing machine for Christmas, so maybe it’s time to get back on track! 🙂

    • I hope the idea works, and I actually go through and finish up these projects. I already kind of added 2 more things to the list since writing it :/ I’ll have to make a new post about that soon. You should do your own craft debt series! It would be fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

